Australian Cricket Awards: Pat Cummins wins Allan Border Medal, Nathan Lyon baggage Check participant of the Yr

Pat Cummins has gained the Allan Border Medal. (Supply: AP)

Nathan Lyon has change into the primary specialist finger spinner to win the Check Participant of the Yr award on the Australian Cricket Awards on Monday (February 11) with seam bowling allrounder Marcus Stoinis rising because the ODI participant of the Yr. Within the shortest format, Glenn Maxwell took the T20I award with Matthew Wade bagging the Home Participant of the Yr award. Among the many girls, Alyssa Healy gained the ODI and T20I Participant of the Yr earlier than including the Melinda Clark Award to finish a hat-trick. Pat Cummins gained the coveted Allan Border Medal. The voting is completed for the interval of January 7, 2018 until January 9, 2019 with members of the media, umpires and Australian gamers placing of their selections.

Greater than seven years after Cummins launched himself as some of the thrilling finds in Australia cricket, solely to succumb to a sequence of long-term accidents, he inscribed his identify into the honour roll of Australian Cricket in Melbourne. After incomes participant of the match on his debut Check in opposition to South Africa, he suffered harm points with stress fractures.

On Monday, he stood earlier than his friends and former greats to obtain Australia males’s cricket’s most prestigious particular person award from the previous Check captain whose identify adorns it. In doing so, he joined a prestigious membership of former Border Medal winners: Steve Waugh, Glenn McGrath, Matthew Hayden, Adam Gilchrist, Ricky Ponting, Michael Clarke, Shane Watson, Steve Smith and David Warner. Cummins is the primary bowler to have earned the honour since Mitchell Johnson was topped in 2014.

At 25 years and 279 days, he’s additionally the youngest Border Medallist since Smith gained the primary of his two awards in 2015 when aged 25 years and 239 days.

Lyon polled a mixed complete of 25 votes from the jury forward of quick bowler Pat Cummins, batsman Usman Khawaja, wicketkeeper batsman Tim Paine and batsman Mitchell Marsh to win the Check Participant of the Yr. Lyon emerged three votes away from Cummins with Khawaja (17), Paine (9) and Mitchell Marsh (eight) making up the highest 5 throughout the ceremony in Melbourne.

Lyon turns into simply the second specialist bowler to be topped finest males’s Check participant prior to now decade, with Mitchell Starc having taken the honour in 2017. Ever since Brett Lee gained in 2008, the award has been dominated by batsmen with Michael Clarke successful it 4 instances, Steve Smith (twice) and Simon Katich, Shane Watson and David Warner as soon as every.

Throughout a tough 12 months in ODIs the place Australia gained simply two of 13 matches throughout the voting interval, Stoinis was the one constant performer. He performed 13 matches and polled 30 votes to win forward of Aaron Finch (22 votes), Shaun Marsh 18, Travis Head (14) and bowlers Billy Stanlake and Andrew Tye who every earned 9 votes.

It’s the first honour for Stoinis on the Australian Cricket Awards and he turns into the primary seam-bowling allrounder to win the ODI prize since Shane Watson’s hat-trick in 2010-2012.

Stoinis was the third highest run-scorer with 376 runs, with 4 fifties and a prime rating of 87. His common was 28.92 in a middle-order function however nicely beneath his profession batting common of 42.47. With the ball, he took 13 wickets from as many matches, at a mean of 36.77 with a finest return of three/16.

Within the shortest format of the sport, Glenn Maxwell gained his second T20 Worldwide Participant of the Yr Award. Maxwell, who beforehand gained the award in 2015, turns into the third a number of winner of the lads’s T20 participant after Watson (2012, 2013 and 2017) and Finch (2014, 2018).

Maxwell garnered 33 votes to narrowly edge D’Arcy Brief (30 votes) and AJ Tye (29 votes). Additionally showing within the prime 5 had been Finch (19) and Billy Stanlake (18).

Maxwell performed all 19 T20 video games for Australia throughout the interval, scoring 506 runs at 36.14 with a strike charge of 143.75. The run tally is third behind Finch’s 531 that was bolstered by his record-breaking 172 in opposition to Zimbabwe, and Brief’s 515.

Within the bowling charts, Maxwell was additionally Australia’s joint third-most prolific wicket-taker within the format with 9 scalps regardless of getting used for simply 17 overs and conceding 7.59 runs per over.

Among the many girls, Healy took residence three honours on the evening for her exploits with the bat in ODIs and T20Is. The inaugural girls’s ODI and ladies’s T20I participant of the 12 months went to Healy which rewards her breakthrough 12 months that noticed the Australians play simply six ODIs amid a glut of 20-over cricket. Healy struck 329 runs at 54.83 to cement her place on the prime of the one-day order. She picked up 13 votes, to complete forward of opener Nicole Bolton (12) and allrounder Ashleigh Gardner (9).

Healy getting the T20I award appeared inevitable. Named participant of the match on the T20 World Cup (the place Australia gained their fourth crown) after which the ICC T20I Participant of the Yr, her stepping up for this award got here as no shock. In 16 innings Healy hit 578 runs at 41.29 – putting at a charge of 145.96 – together with six half-centuries. She then additionally accepted the Belinda Clark Award for her outstanding 12 months.

Australian Cricket Awards 2019: All of the winners

Ladies’s ODI Participant of the Yr: Alyssa Healy

Ladies’s T20I Participant of the Yr: Alyssa Healy

Ladies’s Home Participant of the Yr: Heather Graham

Belinda Clark Award: Alyssa Healy

Greatest Younger Feminine Cricketer: Georgia Wareham

Allan Border Medal: Pat Cummins

Males’s ODI Participant of the Yr: Marcus Stoinis

Males’s T20I Participant of the Yr: Glenn Maxwell

Check Participant of the Yr: Nathan Lyon

Greatest Younger Male Cricketer: Will Pucovski

Home Participant of the Yr: Matthew Wade

Neighborhood Champion: Moises Henriques for work in elevating consciousness for psychological well being points

Inductees into Australian Cricket Corridor of Fame: Dean Jones, Billy Murdoch and Cathryn Fitzpatrick

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *